Skip navigation

You are here

Areas of Concentration

Requirements for the bachelor of arts (BA) degree from Morris consist of two parts: general education and the major. Students complete a major by fulfilling the requirements as specified in the University Catalog. Instead of a major, some students may choose to complete an area of concentration, which is an individualized, often interdisciplinary, group of courses that meets the requirement of study in depth of a specific field of knowledge.

Students who wish to complete an area of concentration (major or minor) must have the program approved by the appropriate faculty advisers, division chairs, and the vice chancellor for academic affairs and dean. A copy of the approved program must be filed with the Registrar's Office. 

Detailed Procedures & Forms

Prototypes for areas of concentration that have been approved by the dean are available by contacting the Dean's Office. Some examples of areas of concentration prototypes are:

  • Actuarial Science
  • American Studies
  • Animal Behavior
  • Archaeology
  • Art Therapy
  • Arts Administration
  • Digital Media Studies
  • Exercise Science
  • Forensic Science
  • International Studies
  • Journalism
  • Multicultural Studies
  • Peace Studies
  • Public Health

Contact Laura Burks,, in the Dean's Office for more information.