Skip navigation

You are here

O. Truman Driggs Distinguished Lecture in History

  • Participants at the prestigious Driggs lecture.

Presented by the Division of the Social Sciences and the University of Minnesota, Morris Alumni Association, the endowed Driggs Lecture was created in 1985 by alumni and friends of the late O. Truman Driggs, professor of history, who taught from 1963 until the time of his death in 1989. He served as the Division of the Social Sciences chair from 1968 until 1977. Annually, the lecture brings distinguished visitors to the Morris campus to speak on topics relating to history, the liberal arts, or public affairs.

2017-2018 Lecture

Professor R. Marie Griffith, Washington University
"Moral Combat: Sex, Politics, and the Fracturing of American Christianity"
Thursday, September 21
7:30 p.m. HFA Recital Hall

Previous Driggs Lectures

  • 2016-17 Erika Lee, University of Minnesota
  • 2014–15 Ruth Mazo Karras, University of Minnesota
  • 2013–14 Evelyn Hu-DeHart, Brown University
  • 2012–13, Sterling Evans, University of Oklahoma.
  • 2011–12 H Glenn Penny, University of Iowa
  • 2010–11 William Rorabaugh, University of Washington
  • 2009–10 Jill Doerfler, University of Minnesota, Duluth
  • 2008–9 Karl Appuhn, New York University
  • 2007–8 Sheldon Garon, Princeton University
  • 2006–7 Kathleen Conzen, University of Chicago
  • 2005–6 Marshall Eakin, Vanderbilt University
  • 2004–5 Susan Stuard, Haverford College
  • 2003–4 Martin Klein, Yale University
  • 2002–3 Ihman Ghazalla, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • 2001–2 Susan Armitage, Washington State University
  • 2000–1 John Phillip Colletta, National Archives
  • 1999–2000 Emmanuel K. Akyeampong, Harvard University
  • 1998–99 John A. Lynn, University of Illinois
  • 1997–98 Stanley Katz, Princeton University
  • 1996–97 Robert Thompson, Syracuse University
  • 1995–96 Marilyn Young, New York University
  • 1994–95 Clara Sue Kidwell, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1993–94 Christopher Browning, Pacific Lutheran University
  • 1992–93 Carla Rahn Phillips, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • 1991–92 Paul L. Murphy, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • 1990–91 Richard Flacks, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • 1989–90 Jack Censer, George Mason University
  • 1988–89 Elaine Tyler May, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • 1987–88 Stanley J. Idzerda, College of St. Benedict
  • 1986–87 Robert M. Isherwood, Vanderbilt University