First-time teacher licensure
Applicants will need to apply and pay online at education.state.mn.us.
Click on "Licensing" on quick links.
Please read all of the Application Instructions before you log in to the online licensing system.
Online Application Instructions
- Click on Online Licensing System and create your account.
- You will need to pay the license fee with a Visa or Master Card.
- The processing fee is currently $90.70.
2. Complete the MDE Web Site Profile.
- Remember, this is used for first-time license application.
- Once you have established an account, the security site will remember you by your login name and password.
You are now ready to Apply for License—follow the step-by-step online instructions. You will need to provide the information requested on each page.
Please note the following:
Once you start the online application there is a total of 60 days from the date your online application is submitted to send in all required materials to the Minnesota Department of Education.
Please submit all of your materials to Emma Kloos or hand in hard copies to the Division of Education office. Once we have received all of your materials and you have met all requirements, we will send in your licensure paperwork to MDE.
If supporting documents are not received at MDE within the 60 days, your application may be deleted from the online system, and you will need to reapply and pay the fee again.
Remember: MDE wants all material sent together in one package, and we will not submit your materials until we have received all supporting documents (fingerprint card, license application cover page, verification of completion of a state approved licensure program form, edTPA score report, and MTLE score reports).
Forms & Materials for Licensure
You will receive your blank fingerprint card and instructions at the senior licensure meeting in April.
Verification of Completion of a State-Approved Licensure Program Form
This form is downloaded via the online application process, which will include applicant name, address, date of birth, phone number, and processing number. The Licensure Certification Officer, Professor Gwen Rudney, will sign this form once all licensure requirements have been met. This form will have your Minnesota process number on it. When the form comes up you may save it as a PDF document and you can email it to firstname.lastname@example.org, or you may turn in a hard copy to the Division of Education office.
MDE Checklist/License Application Cover Page
This form is also downloaded via the online application process. The items on this form indicate what information is required by the Minnesota Department of Education for each applicant. Please email this form to email@example.com or turn in a hard copy to the Division of Education office.
All teachers must take and pass the Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations (MTLE). This includes the Basic Skills tests in Reading, Writing, and Mathematics, a pedagogy test consisting of two subtests, and the content knowledge subtests specific to the licensure field. Please remember to forward your score reports to Emma Kloos. UMM teacher candidates are also required to take the edTPA for which they receive an official score report from Pearson.
Official Transcript Request Form
This form will be provided to you during the annual license meeting in April. You will fill this form out during the meeting and hand it in to Emma Kloos. Once you have completed all necessary license requirements and graduated, Emma will obtain a copy of your transcript for your student file.
[ ] Completed Online Application for First Time Full Professional Minnesota Education License–Teaching
[ ] Paid $90.70 Processing Fee
Submit the Following Materials to Emma Kloos in the Education Office:
[ ] Official Transcript Request Form at the Annual Licensure Meeting in April
[ ] Completed BCA Fingerprint Card
[ ] Verification of Licensure Program Form
[ ] License Application Cover Page
[ ] MTLE and edTPA Score Reports